Aviation Safety Competition Final Judging









The 5 teams proceeding to the finals of the Aviation Safety Competition 2021 have been selected and they are, in no particular order:

NTU AEROSOC – Nanyang Technological University
Reine Soo Jie Yi
Coral Lim Chu Yu
Mohammed Adnan Azam
NTU AEROSOC provided a different perspective on aviation safety, focusing on fatigue of both the pilot side and the air traffic control (ATC) side of things, as well as wake turbulence in take off and landings , and came up with novel detection and reduction measures to reduce the resulting issues.

NTU Engineers – Nanyang Technological University
Jefri Tan
Timothy Liu
Darrens Sanders Tanuwidjaja
Marcus Neo Zi Chao
Kenzhi Iskandar Wong
Ntu Engineers delved into air traffic management and human factors affecting it, citing Emirates Flight 407 to show that human errors may occur even under the best of circumstances. Their solution involves software directly collecting relevant data such as pre-flight checks, thereby bypassing the human factor.

Meraki – Temasek Polytechnic
Jerell Ong Pei Hong
Ng Jun Jie Ernest
Reeve Goh Yu Zhi
Lim Yan Bing
Sarah Lim Ker Wei
Coordinating Teacher: Ms Cyrena Cheong
Meraki consulted industry experts in order to find solutions that would be relevant to the current industry climate. They also showed in a very concise manner the history of aviation safety and how flight computers have affected it, and concluded with informed suggestions related to automation and the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in aviation.

Team Pan Pan – Temasek Polytechnic
Lim Wen Wei, Bryan
Muadz Yamani B Mustafa
Kontham Dedeepya
Koh Kai Li Kelly
Tio Ke Min Felicia
Team Pan Pan looked into the fly-by-wire (FBW) system that revolutionised flight control systems, and discussed the pros and cons of leaving most of the flying to technology instead of human pilots using Qantas Flight 72 to further their discussion points. They then presented several possible developments including the role of Internet of Things (IoT) as well as data science in aviation safety in the near future.

SIMP AERO – Singapore Polytechnic
Voon Zhi Kai Tristan
Chua Sheryuk Alpheson
Thanashwar Sugumar
SIMP AERO took a deeper look into the broader flight computer systems such as the Electronic Flight Instrument System (EFIS) and autoland/autopilot systems. They too discussed the potential diminishing of understanding and skill by human pilots due to improvement in flight systems, and provided deep insight into making use of an AI-enabled diagnostics system to speed up pre-flight checks.

Guest of Honour and Judging Panel

We are pleased to have Mr Chua Hock Hai onboard as the guest of honour for this year’s competition. Mr Chua is SVPHR at SIA Engineering Company, one of sponsors of this year’s competition.

In addition, we are honoured to have the following on our judging panel:
Michael Daniel, MD, Aviation-insight.aero
ME7 Tay Gek Peng, Dy Head Air Engineering and Logistics, HQ RSAF

We wish all the finalists the best of luck, and look forward to their final submissions on the 30th. May the best team win!