[tab: Overview] 

The Aviation Safety Competition is a Singapore Institute of Aerospace Engineers (SIAE) initiated project. This project aims to reach out to Secondary, Tertiary and University students, generating interest in aviation and encourage them to consider careers in the aviation industry. Our mission is to build an aviation culture for our NGAP (Next Generation of Aviation Professionals).

This year, with the theme “Maintenance for Air Safety” will be the third competition of the series. The program is set to launch in 2017 with a series of lectures conducted by industry experts, including senior practitioners of agencies involved in aviation safety, navigation and MRO. Visits to aviation facilities would also be scheduled for participants to get a feel of real life aircraft and airport operations. Case studies in aircraft maintenance will be included in lectures. Students in teams of 3 to 5 will be given a scenario of airline operation for case analysis and presentation. The entire program culminates with a contest in Aug 2017, where a panel of judges will select up to 5 entries short-listed entries for the final presentation and the Award Ceremony is in Sep 2017.

Details refer to the ASC BOOKLET of ASC 2017.

Our Greatest Appreciation to

ASC 2017  Sponsors


ASC 2017 Industry Supporters

ASC 2017 Lecturers

Mr Lim Yeow Khee (SIAE)

Mr Ronald Pennington (Safran Landing Systems Services Singapore)

Mr Geoffrey Grier (Airbus)

ASC 2017 Judges

Mr Gunter Emmerich (Airbus)

Mr Yip Ying Kiong (Eagle Services Asia)

Mr Tan Chu Hiang (Heavy Maintenance Singapore Services)

Prof Lim Kah Bin (National University of Singapore)



[tab: Special Features Highlight] 

Special Features Highlight:

  • International Competition

This year, our ASC is launching internationally beyond Singapore. Participants will have the opportunity to share knowledge with students from overseas.

  • Exciting Industrial Visits

Several Industrial Visits will be organized for participants to experience and gain insights to aviation companies, including:

  1. Engines MRO
  2. Components MRO
  3. Aircraft MRO
  4. Aviation Manufacturing
  • Industry Experts’ Lectures

Theme related lectures on Aircraft Maintenance Programme, Fleet Management and Production Planning and Control will be conducted for students to gain the industry-related knowledge from industry experts.

Lecture 1: MRO and Aviation Industry (22 Apr 2017 at ATTC)

Lecture 2: Human Factor and Error Management (29 Apr 2017 at ATTC)

Lecture 3: Formulating a Maintenance Program and Schedule (10 Jun 2017 at ATTC)

  • Award Ceremony with attractive prizes



[tab: Registration]

Competition Timeline:

Mar: Registration

Apr-Jun: Lectures and Industry Visit

Jul: Entries Submission

Aug: Entries Judging

Oct: Award Ceremony


  • Who can register:

Students from Schools, JC, Poly, ITE and University (For Competition Category, please refer to the competition booklet)

  • How to register:
  1. Download and fill in ASC Registration Form.
  2. Submit the Registration Form to aero@siae.org.sg

For payment details, please refer to the Registration Form.

  • When to register:

Registration deadline: 15 Apr 2017 23:59p.m.(Registration Closed)


[tab: Award Ceremony] 

The entire program culminated with a contest on October 2017, where a panel of judges selected 6 short-listed entries for the final presentation. the Award Ceremony was on 31 October 2017. The Guest-of-Honour Ms Low Yen Ling, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, MOE & MTI graced the ceremony. More than 350 attendees have witnessed the success of winners.

Guest-of-Honour, Ms Low Yen Ling, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, MOE & MTI

First Prize Winners (Category A) from Temasek Polytechnic

First Prize Winners (Category B) from ITE College Central

Second Prize Winners (Category A) from Republic Polytechnic

Second Prize Winners (Category B) from Nanyang Girls’ High School

Third Prize Winners (Category A) from Nanyang Technological University

Third Prize Winners (Category B) from Hillgrove Secondary School

Special Prize Winners (Category A) from ITE West

Special Prize Winners (Category B) from Zhenghua Secondary School